Hard Questions

frank, open and honest discussions

Muhammad, The Messenger of Allah, and Isaiah 29

with 2 comments


Question: Is this a prophecy? if so, who is the un-learned person who will be given the book?

The Book of the Prophet Isaiah 29:11-12:

10 For the LORD hath poured out upon you the spirit of deep sleep, and hath closed your eyes; the prophets, and your heads, the seers, hath He covered.
11 And the vision of all this is become unto you as the words of a writing that is sealed, which men deliver to one that is learned, saying: ‘Read this, I pray thee’; and he saith: ‘I cannot, for it is sealed’;
12 and the writing is delivered to him that is not learned, saying: ‘Read this, I pray thee’; and he saith: ‘I am not learned.

In the Muslim Tradition, Prophet Muhammad peace be upon him, The Messenger of God, was born in Mecca in 572 A.C.E. He was 40 years old when he received the first Revelation from God, through the Angle Gabriel, who appeared to the Prophet in the Cave of Hira, located in a mountain in Mecca. It was a habit of the Prophet to worship God in the Cave, away from the Idolatry environment which was prevailing in Mecca and the whole of Arabia at the time.The following narration of the first encounter with the Angle Gabriel is extremely significant, and I will return to it again when discussing the Old Testament’s prophecies concerning the Prophet of the Gentiles:….In the Book of Bukhari, (1:1:3),

Aisha, the Prophet’s wife said:(”The commencement of the Divine Revelation to Allah’s Messenger was in the form of good dreams which came true like bright day light, and then the love of seclusion was bestowed upon him.He used to go in seclusion in the cave of Hira where he used to worship (Allah alone) continuously for many days before his desire to see his family. He used to take with him the journey food for the stay and then come back to (his wife) Khadija to take his food like-wise again till suddenly the Truth descended upon him while he was in the cave of Hira. The angel came to him and asked him to read. The Prophet replied: “I do not know how to read.The Prophet added, “The angel caught me (forcefully) and pressed me so hard that I could not bear it any more. He then released me and again asked me to read and I replied, ‘I do not know how to read.’ Thereupon he caught me again and pressed me a second time till I could not bear it any more. He then released me and again asked me to read but again I replied, ‘I do not know how to read (or what shall I read)?’ Thereupon he caught me for the third time and pressed me, and then released me and said:
“(In The Name of God, The Compasionate, The Merciful ,
Read in the name of your Lord, who has created [all that exists],
has created man from a clot’
)”

3* بِسْمِ اللهِ الرَّحْمنِ الرَّحِيمِ * اقْرَأْ بِاسْمِ رَبِّكَ الَّذِي خَلَقَ *1 خَلَقَ الْإِنسَانَ مِنْ عَلَقٍ

The story above has remarkable similarities to the vision of from The Hebrew Bible and the Isaiah Scroll which speak of a sealed book given to the one who can not read, and he said “I can not read.”

Written by Rasheed Gadir

October 10, 2007 at 8:18 am

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Rasheed,

    Recently I have been studying the 2nd Book of Nephi (Book of Mormon) that quotes the prophecies of Isaiah quite extensively. Nephi explains that Isiah prophesies of God’s (Allah’s) future judgements upon the House of Israel and what will happen in the last days. He correctly predicts the Assyrian destruction of the Northern Kingdom (Ephraim) and subsequent scattering of its remnant and the Babylonian destruction of the kingdom of Judah (and Manassah), it’s subsequent captivity, and return to Palestine, where they would be responsible for killing the Messiah. Nephi explains that Isaiah’s words will not be completely understood until the last days and that when these prophecied events do come to pass, Isaiah’s words about them would be perfectly understood by all. So…

    I clicked with interest on your Isaiah tab. I became quite excited by the first post that came up, this one on the sealed book. Please let me relate to you a bit of the early history of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints, in particular the translation of the gold plates later to be known as the Book of Mormon.

    To be brief, here is some background. In 1820, Joseph Smith was shown by the Angel Moroni (the last keeper of the Nephite records in ancient America) the spot in a nearby hill (Cumorah near Palmyra, NY) where he had buried an abridgement of all the Nephite records. It was recorded on thin plates of gold in characters similar to Reformed Egyptian (possibly not). A large portion of the record was sealed and Moroni told Joseph that this part would be revealed to the world at a future date. Joseph Smith translated these records via the gift and power of God. He had two main scribes, Martin Harris and Oliver Cowdery. Martin Harris was a wealthy local farmer and Joseph had approached him about financing the publication of the translation.

    Ok, now that you have that background…

    Here is a passage out of Joseph Smith History 1:63-65,

    63 Sometime in this month of February, the aforementioned Mr. Martin Harris came to our place, got the characters which I had drawn off the plates, and started with them to the city of New York. For what took place relative to him and the characters, I refer to his own account of the circumstances, as he related them to me after his return, which was as follows:
    64 “I went to the city of New York, and presented the characters which had been translated, with the translation thereof, to Professor Charles Anthon, a gentleman celebrated for his literary attainments. Professor Anthon stated that the translation was correct, more so than any he had before seen translated from the Egyptian. I then showed him those which were not yet translated, and he said that they were Egyptian, Chaldaic, Assyriac, and Arabic; and he said they were true characters. He gave me a certificate, certifying to the people of Palmyra that they were true characters, and that the translation of such of them as had been translated was also correct. I took the certificate and put it into my pocket, and was just leaving the house, when Mr. Anthon called me back, and asked me how the young man found out that there were gold plates in the place where he found them. I answered that an angel of God had revealed it unto him.
    65 “He then said to me, ‘Let me see that certificate.’ I accordingly took it out of my pocket and gave it to him, when he took it and tore it to pieces, saying that there was no such thing now as ministering of angels, and that if I would bring the plates to him he would translate them. I informed him that part of the plates were sealed, and that I was forbidden to bring them. He replied, ‘I cannot read a sealed book.’ I left him and went to Dr. Mitchell, who sanctioned what Professor Anthon had said respecting both the characters and the translation.”

    At the time, Joseph had a third grade education. He was not learned and yet he translated these characters more correctly than Professor Anthon had ever seen. It is our belief that this prophecy of Isaiah refers to the coming forth of the Book of Mormon, a second witness of Jesus Christ. It was literally fulfilled by Joseph Smith and Professor Charles Anthon!

    Don

    June 5, 2008 at 7:19 pm

  2. The prophecy tells Ahmad; ‘Servant of God’ will war in bringing judgement, to correct the wrongs. He will also liberate Arabia from worshiping molten images. Wilderness (desert), villages and cities will glorify God. This is what happen today. Whole of Arabia worshiping God daily.

    And we continue reading Isaiah 42:18 – 25; Children of Israel will still be deaf and blind as they neglect the message brought by the ‘Servant of God’.
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

    In Isaiah 42:1, this cannot be a coincidence. If we look at the writing of אתמך (Atmc) אחמד (Ahmad). Not to mentioned אתמך (Atmc) is a term used only once throughout. [Scribes copying error or indeed an intended error?] And the word before אתמך (Atmc), is עבדי (Abedi~My Servant). It is indeed indicating Ahmad; Abedallah (Ahmad; Servant of God).

    Children of Israel had been foretold by the coming of Ahmad but only a few accepts.

    Submit

    June 17, 2013 at 6:26 am


Leave a Reply

